f t g m
Copyright 2024 - Custom text here

Disability Plate/Placards

Get Your Disability Plate/Placard at Quick Stop! 

Many plate types are available with a disability symbol (International Symbol of Access). The disability symbol provides the disabled applicant the privilege of parking in specially marked parking spaces provided for the exclusive use of physically disabled persons. The disabled applicant must be the driver or a passenger in the vehicle when the disability parking space is used.

You must complete a Disability-Hearing Impaired Plate/Placard Application or have one on file. Disability plates are available to individuals and organizations, but may not be issued to trailers.

If the applicant is under the age of 18 and not capable of signing, a legal guardian may sign and indicate relationship to the applicant. If the applicant is over the age of 18 and not capable of signing, a copy of a power-of-attorney form is required before the application can be accepted.

Plates are assigned to, and may only be displayed on, a specific vehicle registered or leased in the disabled applicant's name. If leased, but not registered in the applicant's name, a document showing the disabled applicant as a lessee is required. A disability plate may be transferred to another qualifying vehicle by visiting Quick Stop Title and Registration.

Permanent and Temporary Disability Placards are issued to the disabled applicant and may not be duplicated, transferred to, or used by, another person. Permanent Disability Placards are valid for five years (provided the medical condition continues) and may be renewed online. A lost, stolen or mutilated placard may be replaced with an online request. There is a $10 charge for the placards.

Temporary Disability Placards

Temporary Placards are valid for six months. At the end of six months, if the medical condition continues, a new application/certification is required.

For placard replacements, if the current record cannot be located and the original application is unavailable for verification, a new application will be required. A temporary disability placard will be issued with the same expiration date that appeared on the lost, stolen or mutilated placard. A new temporary placard with a full six-month use period may be issued upon completion of a new application.


A lost, stolen or mutilated disability plate/placard

Plates may be replaced for a $10 fee. 

Placards may be replaced for a $10 fee.

Most other states and the provinces of Canada have agreed to honor Arizona disability plates and placards. When traveling by vehicle in other states, provinces or foreign countries, it is a good idea to contact the appropriate motor vehicle authorities.

Use of plates or placards in violation of Arizona law may result in fines and penalties charged to the operator, to the person in charge or to the owner of the vehicle, and the plate or placard may be recalled.


Medical Certification

The Medical Certification section on the application must be completed by an authorized physician (doctor of medicine, osteopathy, podiatry or chiropractic, licensed to practice medicine in the United States), a registered nurse practitioner or by a hospital administrator. Applicants must meet one or more of these conditions:

  • The applicant is unable to walk 200 feet without stopping to rest.
  • The applicant is unable to walk without help from another person or a brace, cane, crutch, wheelchair or other prosthetic or assistance device.
  • The applicant has lung disease that with forced respiratory, expiratory volume for one second, if measured by spirometry, is less than one liter, or the applicant's arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm/hg on room air at rest.
  • The applicant uses portable oxygen.
  • The applicant has a cardiac condition with Class 3 or 4 functional limitations by American Heart Association standards.
  • The applicant is severely limited in ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological or orthopedic condition.

Disability Placards & Plates in Arizona

If you're an AZ resident with a disability, you can apply to the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) for a disability parking permit.

ADOT issues both placards and license plates to people with disabilities.

It also offers plates if you're hearing impaired, to help police officers and other drivers recognize your impairment.

For more information about disability placards and plates in Arizona, including application information, keep reading below.


Types of AZ Disability Placards & Plates

ADOT issues the following disability license plates and placards:

Disability placards: Temporary, permanent, or hearing impaired.

License plates: Permanent disabilities or hearing impaired.

NOTE: Hearing impairment placards and plates CANNOT be used for disabled parking.

Organizations that regularly transport people with disabilities can also receive placards or license plates.

Medical certification is required for individual applications.


Visitors with Disabilities

All states recognize each other's disabled parking placards and license plates.

If you are visiting Arizona from another state, you can use your placard or plate for disabled parking. You are subject to AZ parking regulations.


Disabled Parking Regulations

With a handicap parking placard or license plate, you can park in spaces and zones designated and signed for people with disabilities.

A hearing impaired license plate DOES NOT give you disability parking privileges. It is issued so that police, ambulance, and other services and drivers are aware that you have this hearing impairment.

Organization Disability Plates/Placards

Any organization that owns or leases a motor vehicle that primarily transports persons with physical disabilities may obtain a disability license plate or placard. Click here to download the Organization Disability Application